Where to start with Discworld

The Discworld is the fictional setting of Terry Pratchett’s most iconic series. All the Discworld novels take place on a flat, circular world which sits on the back of four elephants, which stand on the back of a giant star turtle. Although this world may look and sound completely different to our own, the Discworld novels explore a multitude of very human issues.

Below, you’ll find all 41 Discworld novels in the order they were published. The Discworld novels can be read in any order so, if you’re not sure where to start, why not try our book generator to find the perfect book for you?

The Discworld

Book Generator

Need help choosing which book to read? You’re in the right place.

Our recommendations show up in alphabetical order, hit refresh if you’d like another suggestion.


Select up to three options and we’ll recommend a book we think you’ll like!


For Fans

For New Readers

For Younger Readers

Make Me Laugh

Make Me Think

Mirror To Our World

Mostly Magical


All images on this page are copyright Penguin Random House except the following images: