Discworld Books Reading Order

The Discworld is the fictional setting of Terry Pratchett’s most iconic fantasy novel series. Although this world may appear completely different to our own, the Discworld novels explore a multitude of very human issues.

In total, there are 41 Discworld novels published over 32 years. The books can be read in any order but for ease we have created two downloadable lists for you that may help guide you to fully explore the stories and characters of Discworld.


This lists the Discworld books in order of publication, and is perfect for readers who want to see the saga unfold as it was originally told.

‘I guess you could say that the history of the Discworld is my own history as a writer’ said Terry Pratchett, noting the difference between the early books – written to parody fantasy – and the later ones, which satirise normal life.


This is a character-based list that will allow you to explore the arc of your favourite characters. This is a great way to start reading Discworld books as you can choose the theme that suits your reading taste. For example, those with a penchant for mysteries might start with The City Watch books, whilst fantasy readers will delight in the Witches books.

And if you’re still not sure where to start, why not try our book generator to find the perfect book for you?

Explore the world of Terry Pratchett

All images on this page are copyright Penguin Random House except the following images: