PC Issues

(For General Discussion)

Moderators: Jason, Toothy, Tonyblack

Re: PC Issues

Postby The Mad Collector » Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:45 pm

It's the card but should be configurable
One of those? Oh I'm sure I have one somewhere..

http://www.bearsonthesquare.com
User avatar
The Mad Collector
Member
 
Posts: 10217
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:48 am
Location: Ironbridge UK

Re: PC Issues

Postby Conforumist » Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:50 pm

I really wish I had access to a PC with a PCIe port, so I could test the card. :?
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: PC Issues

Postby Conforumist » Sat Oct 19, 2013 9:39 pm

Will the HD 6870 work in my PC?
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 900MHZ 1GB 4.2GHZ GDDR5 2XDVI 2XMINI DisplayPort HDMI PCI-E Video Card

I know I will need to up the PS, I'm just wondering if it will fit the same socket as my GT 9800?
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: PC Issues

Postby Bickaxe » Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:00 am

Short easy answer: Yes :dance:

Long slightly technical answer: Yes :dance: this is because your GT9800 connected to your motherboard via PCI-E 2.0 x16. The HD 6870 uses the same albeit 2.1. You should still be able to connect it to your monitor using your existing monitor lead and see a big improvement in visuals.



I'm kind of going through the same thing. Been meaning to do a total system upgrade for the past year and it took my graphics card (GTS8800) failing for me to make a start. It lasted through 6 years of intensive gaming but now its been laid to rest. Time for a nice new R9 280X I think.
Fiendish til the en-
:twisted:
User avatar
Bickaxe
Member
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:05 pm
Location: Newport

Re: PC Issues

Postby ChristianBecker » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:45 am

Conforumist wrote:I notice that the video card takes 3-4gigs of the 8gig of PC ram as well. Is that a function of Windows, or of the video card itself?


Wait, what? Your videocard uses your RAM? Doesn't it have its own?
On with their heads! I'm the clown prince of fools
if you don't get the joke it's your loss
Love and laughter you see are the new currency
'cause greed's coinage is not worth a toss

Exile yourself to the unforgiving continent of Wraeclast!
User avatar
ChristianBecker
Member
 
Posts: 4170
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Bingen

Re: PC Issues

Postby Conforumist » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:57 am

Yes, it has it's own 512mb, but I would guess that the video driver takes some of the 8gig of system RAM, which is not being utilized most of the time.

When I put the video in the cart to buy, it said "out of stock". Looks like their stores only have a few. They're 5 provinces away from me. :)
Oh well, no big deal.

This site will compare video cards: http://www.hwcompare.com/
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: PC Issues

Postby Conforumist » Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:49 pm

I just installed the new video card and power supply. Everything looks to be back to normal. :)
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: PC Issues

Postby Bouncy Castle » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:13 pm

Not really a PC issue, but everytime I come to this forum, I have to log in again, even though I tick "log me on every visit".

Driving me a tad potty.

I'm using IE.

Any ideas?
Some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them.

The rest of us are a bit crap.
User avatar
Bouncy Castle
Member
 
Posts: 12057
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: London

Re: PC Issues

Postby Who's Wee Dug » Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:02 pm

What version of IE are you using Bouncy, 8, 9,10 or 11.
He willnae tak' a drink! I think he's deid! , on the other hand though A Midgie in yir hand is worth twa up yir kilt.
User avatar
Who's Wee Dug
Member
 
Posts: 14910
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Stirlingshire, Scotland

Re: PC Issues

Postby ChristianBecker » Sat Mar 15, 2014 9:19 am

1.) Do not use IE
2.) If you insist, have a look here: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/inte ... e#ie=ie-11

I guess if you tick "Log me in each time I visit" but cookies are disabled or your browser is not keeping a history this won't be honoured.
Personally, I have to lock on every time I visit. Wouldn't trust my computer with my passwords.
On with their heads! I'm the clown prince of fools
if you don't get the joke it's your loss
Love and laughter you see are the new currency
'cause greed's coinage is not worth a toss

Exile yourself to the unforgiving continent of Wraeclast!
User avatar
ChristianBecker
Member
 
Posts: 4170
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Bingen

Re: PC Issues

Postby Conforumist » Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:03 am

Bouncy Castle wrote:Not really a PC issue, but everytime I come to this forum, I have to log in again, even though I tick "log me on every visit".

Driving me a tad potty.

I'm using IE.

Any ideas?


It's not happening here, but I'm getting the same thing at the Terry Brooks forum. I only go there about twice a week.

I'm using Firefox.
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: PC Issues

Postby Ghost » Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:51 am

it used to happen to me a lot try this link see if it works
index.php
if this is the link you're using anyway sorry I was trying to help
Ooh you cheeky little sea winkle
User avatar
Ghost
Member
 
Posts: 3940
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:34 pm
Location: Blackcountry

Re: PC Issues

Postby Who's Wee Dug » Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:23 pm

IE is my browser of choice I don't like using google's chrome, 2nd choice would be Firefox.
He willnae tak' a drink! I think he's deid! , on the other hand though A Midgie in yir hand is worth twa up yir kilt.
User avatar
Who's Wee Dug
Member
 
Posts: 14910
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Stirlingshire, Scotland

Re: PC Issues

Postby Bouncy Castle » Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:29 pm

I use Firefox at work, and it's OK.

I've got Chrome on my laptop, but it won't play the livestream kittens, yet IE will, which is why I'm using it.
Some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them.

The rest of us are a bit crap.
User avatar
Bouncy Castle
Member
 
Posts: 12057
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: London

Re: PC Issues

Postby Penfold » Mon Mar 17, 2014 5:12 pm

I use Firefox mainly because it has a very good and effective add-on for blocking adverts and pop-ups. :D
The difference between fiction and reality? Fiction has to make sense.
7
User avatar
Penfold
Member
 
Posts: 7234
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:59 am
Location: Worthing

PreviousNext

Return to The Broken Drum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 12 guests