virus again?

(For General Discussion)

Moderators: Jason, Toothy, Tonyblack

virus again?

Postby Conforumist » Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:42 am

I think I may have picked up a virus again? Does anyone else get the following, when they hover over the "ask" link in chillicampers post?

Image

I ran CCleaner and Ad-Aware, but I still see it.

I can't remember what Jan's or Bouncys IT guy told me to do last time, but it worked. Maybe someone can point me to the old post? :?
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: virus again?

Postby Conforumist » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:01 am

I just deleted all of my cookies and I not longer see the "ask" word as a link. Maybe it's fixed?
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: virus again?

Postby Conforumist » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:29 am

Sorry for the multiple posts.

I'm also getting a pop-up in the bottom right of my screen:

Image

..any ideas? I've tried just about everything I can think of.
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: virus again?

Postby ChristianBecker » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:55 am

Did you perhaps install the "Ask toolbar". These toolbars come with various free programmes. They're not a virus per se, just bloody annoying.
Do you get it also when using a different browser? Firefox, Opera, IE?
On with their heads! I'm the clown prince of fools
if you don't get the joke it's your loss
Love and laughter you see are the new currency
'cause greed's coinage is not worth a toss

Exile yourself to the unforgiving continent of Wraeclast!
User avatar
ChristianBecker
Member
 
Posts: 4168
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Bingen

Re: virus again?

Postby Conforumist » Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:03 am

Crap, the problem is back!
The word "install" in your post now looks like a link with a pop-up. I'm sure I did not download a tool bar, 'cos I hate the f*ing things.

I'm currently on IE and I do not have the 2 problems, so I guess it's something in Firefox?
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: virus again?

Postby Conforumist » Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:31 am

I found my old post and did the same thing I was instructed to last time by Bouncy.

It looks ok right now.
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: virus again?

Postby ChristianBecker » Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:32 am

Seems like it.
You could try unistalling FF and reinstalling afterwards. Or check the addons in FF. Perhaps something got installed by something else. Toolbars are often installed by other software, like the Ask toolbar you get when installing Oracle Java.

Edit - Ah, and was that which bouncy suggested?
On with their heads! I'm the clown prince of fools
if you don't get the joke it's your loss
Love and laughter you see are the new currency
'cause greed's coinage is not worth a toss

Exile yourself to the unforgiving continent of Wraeclast!
User avatar
ChristianBecker
Member
 
Posts: 4168
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Bingen

Re: virus again?

Postby Conforumist » Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:38 am

Here what her tech person said:
Daniel says:

1. First step - clear your browser’s cache load and cookies..

2. Restart Firefox, and navigate to Tools -> Add-ons (Ctrl+Shift+A).

3. Select Extensions and find the Text Enhance extension, and click disable and remove the unwanted/unknown extensions.

How to block the Text Enhance cookie

1.From the Tools menu, select Options
2.In the upper section of the Options window, click Privacy
3.In the Cookies tab, click Exceptions
4. In the new Exceptions – Cookies window, enter Text-Enhance.com and Textsrv.com in the Address of Website field and click Disable.



That should do it.

Then I suggest you install and run SuperAntiSpyware, as it really does seem to pick up on lots of stuff that other programmes seem to miss.


Here are the add-ons. I disabled the Java and the Byrowse2.. one I think that's causing the problem.
Image
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: virus again?

Postby raptornx01 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:55 am

probably the norton toolbar did it.
"The reason an author needs to know the rules of grammar isn't so he or she never breaks them, but so the author knows how to break them."
User avatar
raptornx01
Member
 
Posts: 2254
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:03 am
Location: South florida, US

Re: virus again?

Postby Conforumist » Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:20 pm

No, that was always disabled.
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada

Re: virus again?

Postby Watchman44 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:34 pm

It is probably the byrowse2saavee, that is malware and should be removed not just disabled.
Who watches the watchman.......
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC
User avatar
Watchman44
Member
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: Tiverton Devon

Re: virus again?

Postby raptornx01 » Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:42 pm

why would you keep it if you were just keeping it disabled? :?
"The reason an author needs to know the rules of grammar isn't so he or she never breaks them, but so the author knows how to break them."
User avatar
raptornx01
Member
 
Posts: 2254
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:03 am
Location: South florida, US

Re: virus again?

Postby Antiq » Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:59 pm

I'm afraid I can't help you with that specific pop-up, but it might help to know that if you use the Firefox add-on NoScript, you won't get those pop-ups, or any pop-ups, but you do have to toggle NoScript frequently to allow pages to open completely. It's just second nature to me, I've had it for so long, and to me it's worth it to avoid stuff like that. I use NoScipt and Adblock Plus together.
My security is AVG, which is free, and seems just fine.
Carpe Jugulum
User avatar
Antiq
Member
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:46 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: virus again?

Postby Bickaxe » Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:35 pm

Same here.

NoScript is very simple, you get a bar at the bottom of the screen and you choose to allow certain content. For example, I have permanently allowed this site but I temporarily allow YouTube as I don't want to load all YouTube content in a forum thread.
Fiendish til the en-
:twisted:
User avatar
Bickaxe
Member
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:05 pm
Location: Newport

Re: virus again?

Postby Conforumist » Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:28 pm

raptornx01 wrote:why would you keep it if you were just keeping it disabled? :?


I wasn't sure if it was necessary; so I just disabled it for now.

I'll can it. It naughty anyway.

I'll check out the NoScript thing too...
The greatest things in life are not things.
User avatar
Conforumist
Member
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada


Return to The Broken Drum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests