New to Disc World

Moderators: Jason, Toothy, Tonyblack

New to Disc World

Postby rosierad » Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:51 pm

Hi I'm new to The Disc World series of books. Do they need to be read in order of pulication or are they individual stories in their own right. :?:
rosierad

Postby Jan Van Quirm » Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:23 pm

Not the first time this question has been asked rosierad. :D

It doesn't really matter too much which book you read first as most of them read perfectly well on their own and some are 'stand alone' anyway in that they don't 'belong' with any serial book (there are 4 main 'serial's' running through Discworld). On the other hand reading them in order of publication is as good a route as any.

More on the serials -

The Wizards
- start with The Colour of Magic which is the 1st DW book anyway :P
The Witches They sort of start with Equal Rites (which is also a wizard book) or 'officially' with Wyrd Sisters
Death - He's in all of them just about but Mort was the 1st he starred in
The Watch - Guards! Guards!
Prepare to laugh loads - and sometimes cry too :wink:

PS edit - There are other serials but those are the 'classic' ones. The others will be in to tell you about the rest very shortly and be of more help than me 'cos I haven't read all the later serials so can't really comment well enough
"Some men see things as they are and ask why. Others dream things that never were and ask why not.” George Bernard Shaw
Jan Van Quirm

Postby Tonyblack » Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:14 pm

I agree with Jan. It doesn't matter too much what order you read then. The important thing is that you DO read them. :)

And then post here and tell us what you thought. :wink:

Welcome to the site.
Last edited by Tonyblack on Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Goodness is about what you do. Not what you pray to."
Tonyblack

Postby silverstreak » Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:38 pm

Hi and welcome to the site Rosierad.